(Delaware, Ohio) The Ohio Corn & Wheat Growers Association (OCWGA) is excited that today is the day the United States/Mexico/Canada (USMCA) trade agreement’s enactment is official. OCWGA members spent a lot of time and effort to assist in getting this important trade update signed, ratified, and implemented.

OCWGA President, Patty Mann, made the following statement regarding today’s start of USMCA: “Opening market opportunities is the highest priority for our grower-members, and the USMCA makes major strides in protecting our largest foreign markets – Mexico and Canada. Free trade agreements like this one help us feed and fuel the world. This has been a toughly negotiated trade pact and Ohio grain farmers will be better off because USMCA is in force.”

Ohio’s economy thrives on the export of corn, soft red winter wheat, livestock, ethanol, corn co-products, and small grains. Therefore, developing and maintaining fair and open global trade practices remains an essential policy priority for our state’s agricultural producers. The OCWGA supports fair trade policies which play a vital role in raising the standard of living for all people. Through effective trade policy, Ohio’s farmers prosper, and their local communities flourish.

Tadd Nicholson, Executive Director of Ohio Corn & Wheat added: “Since a potential deal was first announced in September 2018, our members have worked relentlessly to advocate for USMCA with Ohio’s congressional delegation. We are grateful for the broad, bi-partisan support and leadership our delegation has demonstrated on this final agreement and enactment today.”

Ohio’s U.S. House members who voted in favor of USMCA include: Steve Chabot (1stDistrict), Brad Wenstrup (2ndDistrict), Joyce Beatty (3rd District), Jim Jordan (4th District), Bob Latta (5th District), Bill Johnson (6th District), Bob Gibbs (7th District), Warren Davidson (8th District), Mike Turner (10th District), Troy Balderson (12th District), Tim Ryan (13thDistrict), David Joyce (14th District), Steve Stivers (15th District), and Anthony Gonzalez (16th District).

Both Senator’s representing Ohio, Sen. Sherrod Brown and Sen. Rob Portman, voted in favor of the trade agreement.