Delegates attending the National Corn Growers Association’s Corn Congress, which was held virtually today, elected five farmers to serve on the organization’s Corn Board. 

Taking office on Oct. 1, the start of NCGA’s 2021 fiscal year, are new board members Jed Bower of Ohio and Brian Thalmann of Minnesota. Current board members Ken Hartman of Illinois, Brandon Hunnicutt of Nebraska, and Gary Porter of Missouri were re-elected. Four were elected to three-year terms with Thalmann elected to the two-year term left open by FY21 First Vice President-Elect Chris Edgington.

“It clearly demonstrates the importance of NCGA’s work that so many talented, well-qualified candidates stepped forward even during these uniquely difficult times,” said NCGA Nominating Committee Chairman Lynn Chrisp. “All of the candidates were outstanding and have already established impressive histories of service to American agriculture. I am excited to see the work they will do over the coming years for the benefit of corn farmers across the country through their Corn Board service.”

Bower said after the election results were announced, “I am humbled by the vote of confidence delegates had in casting their vote for me. I look forward to representing both Ohio and national corn farmers as we work to advance an industry we love.”

The NCGA Corn Board represents the organization on all matters while directing both policy and supervising day-to-day operations. Board members represent the federation of state organizations, supervise the affairs and activities of NCGA in partnership with the chief executive officer and implement NCGA policy established by the Corn Congress. Members also act as spokesmen for the NCGA and enhance the organization’s public standing on all organizational and policy issues.