The Ohio Corn and Wheat Growers Association (OCWGA) Board of Directors elected officers for 2017. Executive committee positions include the offices of president, vice-president, treasurer and secretary. Those elected to an officer position are responsible for the implementation of board policies and procedures, as well as carrying out the roles for their respective office.

Fifth generation Fayette County farmer Jed Bower was elected as OCWGA president. In addition to growing corn and soybeans near Washington Court House, Bower is very involved in National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) as a Risk Management Action Team member and is also a former Fayette County Farm Bureau President. Last year, he served the association as vice-president.

Fairfield County farmer, Jon Miller will serve as this year’s OCWGA vice-president. Miller is a grain farmer from Pleasantville that currently has 3 generations of the Miller family involved in the day to day operations. He has partipciated in the DuPont Leadership New Century Farmers program and is currently in the NCGA/Syngenta Leadership At Its Best Program. Last year, he served the association as the treasurer.

John Hoffman, a corn, soybean and wheat farmer from Pickaway County was chosen as the OCWGA secretary. He has been a member of the board for 5 years and previously served on the executive committee of the Ohio Small Grains Checkoff. Hoffman farms with his family near Circleville, Ohio. In addition to his work with OCWGA, he is a delegate for US Wheat Associations, on the Berger Health Foundation Board and the fiscal officer of Wayne Township.

Patty Mann was elected as the OCWGA treasurer. Mann farms with her family in Shelby County where they grow corn and soybeans. In addition to her work on the OCWGA board, she has been a part of the Shelby County FSA County Committee, the Jackson Center FFA Advisory committee and FFA Boosters. Mann also serves as the vice-chair for the Consumer Engagement Action Team for the NCGA and previously served as the OCWGA secretary.

Chad Kemp, a corn, soybean and wheat farmer from Preble County, was elected to serve as the OCWGA chairman. He has had various leadership roles for OCWGA including most recently serving as president. Kemp also is a graduate of the NCGA/Syngenta Leadership At Its Best Program. He farms with his family near Lewisburg, Ohio.

About the Ohio Corn & Wheat Growers Association

The Ohio Corn and Wheat Growers Association works to support the educational and political interests of its farmer members, along with the advancement of domestic and international issues that affect the success of Ohio’s corn and wheat markets. For more information, visit